1956 Little NHL Provincial Junior ‘A’ Champions

The 1956 Provincial Junior ‘A’ Championship tournament was held in Parry Sound Ontario with qualifying teams from Midland, Gravenhurst, Newmarket, Port Hope and Thorold.

Midland won their berth in the tournament by eliminating Collingwood over a two game total points series with strong showings from some of the Penetanguishene players ( their arena hadn’t opened that season therefore players from that community augmented the local team) and Midland players alike.

Midland started the tournament playing against a strong Gravenhurst team, winning 3-0 with goals from Paul Devillers, Mike Dubeau and Doug Faint with assists from Jerry Beteau, Paul DeVillers, and Mike Dubeau. The second game opponent was Thorold resulting in a 3-1 win with Mike Dubeau leading the way with 3 goals and assisted by John Swan and Barry McIlravey. The championship game involved Newmarket. Morley Bath scored in the first period followed by Mike Dubeau tallying his fifth goal of the tournament, assisted by Jerry Beteau and Dennis Abbott. Barry Mcilravey potted an unassisted goal to solidifying the 3-1 championship victory. Chester Graham and Morley Bath played strong, two-way games while Wayne Holden handled 45 shots over the three games, including one shut out.

When the victorious team arrived back in Midland, they were introduced to the audience attending the
annual Figure Skating Carnival at the Midland Area Gardens, The team then boarded a fire truck for the long time traditional champions ride up King Street. The brief fire truck ride ended at the Georgian Hotel for a celebratory meal. The team was later honoured at the annual LNHL banquet where they were presented with new jackets from the Town of Midland. The 1956 Little NHL Provincial Junior ‘A’ Championship Team was comprised of Bill Argue, Doug Scott, Cecil Merkley, Jim Cleaver, Mike Dubeau, Barry Mcilravey, Willard Perrault, Jim Dubeau, John Swan (Captain), Dennis Abbott, Wayne Holden, Chester Graham, Jerry Beteau, Morley Bath, Paul Devillers, Herb Wright and Doug Faint. The team was coached by Reverend Len Self, assisted by Jack Doughty and Clare Holden with Manager Jack Gouett.

The Midland Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to welcome this championship team into the Hall.